You shoud attend a conference. No, better, be a speaker!

I just come back from Codemotion Amsterdam and it’s been a fantastic experience! I met a lot of smart guys, I’ve been infected with a lot of new ideas, and I honestly cannot wait to come back to work to share this fun! It’s incredible the amount of knowledge you can pack in two days, the inspiration that you can get, if only you try!

But I was also a speaker there, and I thoroughly enjoyed the fact I was able, myself, to influence people. And a very good breed of people, the ones who actually go to a conference! Some of them took some days off to attend, gave up a couple of days on the beach in the sun to attend a conference and, among other, see me 🙂 How cool is that? These are the people you want to have, as engineers, in your company! People who actually care, who are willing to do sacrifices to learn and to improve themselves!

How many of them do you have in your company? You should do something about that, you should try to get the best people around, and make sure they stick with you big time! So, now, go, check, NOW! How many people do you have in your company that have this (brave, sane and good) attitude?

And what about speakers? That’s the next step! How many people, in your company, decided to be a speaker at a conference? And to risk public humiliation, the fear of the demo going wrong, the nights spent preparing slides, the endless rehearsals… for what? Speakers usually do not get paid. Sometimes they get refunded some costs, sometimes not. And yet… they do it! Because… because we can! I remember my first European conference, Javapolis 2006 (now known as Devoxx) where I talked about Selenium and FitNesse… I was scared, I was unsure, I felt very unsafe, but I did it, and it went well! And if somebody like me, at the time, did it, YOU can do it! Start small, an internal meeting, then meetup or a local user group, then a small national conference, then a bigger one, then a European one… YOU CAN! And it’s awesome!

Now, I am an old fart, and even if I’ve been speaking at many conferences during my career  I am almost out of the game (hey, I said almost!) and the best thing I can do is to breed the new generations to come 🙂 And heck, I will make a point, I will make sure my developers will be speakers, so that this beautiful cycle will continue.

I will have speakers in my company, promise!

 

 

 

 

 

